Day Two – wherein I sleep with the windows open!

June 28, 2008 at 11:45 am Leave a comment

Crunchy Chicken’s Keep Yer Cool Challenge has caused me to get a little obsessed with my indoor-outdoor thermometer. I have it set in a passthrough window between the kitchen and the great room. Since the great room was added on to the existing ranch house, I believe that this was once an exterior window. Now, it seems like a good place to monitor the temperatures in both “sides” of the house. I mentally divide the house into “sides” as there are two heating/a-c units — one for the original ranch house and one for the added great room. It’s a great feature because I can heat or cool only one section of the house depending on the circumstances and if one unit fails, the other can (kinda sorta) stand in for it while it is being repaired.

Yesterday was another hot day in the Piedmont with reports on the radio going as high as 95°F. The outside temperature here at my house in the woods only got to 93°F and the interior temperature only rose as high as 84°F. So, the a/c stayed off all afternoon. When the outside temperature started cooling down, there came a point where the outside was actually cooler than the inside. It took me a little mental leap but I got to where I realized in that case that it made sense to turn the a/c on ever so slightly in an effort to equalize the indoor and outdoor temperatures. I don’t know if that would count as “cheating” on my pledge or no, but it seemed reasonable to me. It seemed especially reasonable because with just that little goose from the a/c I was able to sleep comfortably and well with the windows open and the a/c off all last night.

Entry filed under: Piedmont. Tags: .

Dealing with the Heat One Pretty Local Supper

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


